top of page

  Board of Directors


Kenn Huff - President

Nancy Johnson - Vice President

Elaine Probasco - Treasurer

Barbara Kastellic - Secretary

Dick Bushmiaer

Jim Free

Ken Dolezal

Alta Ann Schneider

Will Reis

Museum Coordinator


Sally Johnson


 The Mission of the Montrose County Historical Society and Museum

is to preserve, display and interpret the historic and cultural legacy of Montrose County and its surrounding region



Preservation,  Heritage, Authenticity

For general information about

programs, exhibits, and services,

please contact us at

Montrose County Historical Society

PO Box 1882, Montrose, CO 81402


For  information call: 970-249-2085


Museums are Community Anchors


In the fall of 1966, a group of local women discussed the idea with a goal of "a museum to preserve and display early day articles and history of our American heritage especially as related to the area of Montrose County".  The Montrose Woman's Club voted to sponsor the organization of a museum.  On

October 8, 1968, the Montrose County Historical Society was formed.

On October 18, 1973, the Historical 

Denver & Rio Grande Depot was the 

location for the newly form museum.

bottom of page